The other side of the coin

So, as well as catching up on my utilisation of reading and research from unit 2 in my posts and blog, I’m now also a participant in unit 3 student-led seminar.

It’s been quite a different experience being a participant, not least because I don’t know the same amount about the topics in this unit ‘Reaching the Online Learner’ as I did through designing the topics for our seminar.  So there really is all the more need for me reading and getting involved in the ADBs.

Rather than reply to one of the seminar’s set questions, I’ve just posted a reply to another participant who really helped clarified my thinking around the Community of Inquiry (CoI) Framework (Garrison & Vaughan 2008)

COI

…by offering a new ‘find’ of an adapted CoI that also incorporates Emotional Presence.

COI plus Emotional Presence

I found myself getting quite emotional / passionate about the subject and that didn’t stem from the seminar leaders but from another participant – indicating that very often the cognitive presence grows through the social interactions between learners – set up by the tutor / leader of learning.

It’s therefore quite tricky to define how I would prioritise the 3 presences in the original CoI model but often Social and Cognitive opportunities and outcomes are indeed created by the tutor, but are very often built and sustained by the learners.  As an online tutor you would surely want this to be the case with your learner?

Am I not as captivated by everyone’s posts? Does this mean I’m not as ‘socially present’ with everyone on the BOE, or is it just that some participant’s insights are more intriguing? I will reflect some more on this and if I figure it out – you’ll be the first to know 🙂

Garrison, D.R., Anderson, T. (2003). E-learning in the 21st century. Routledge-Falmer

Anderson, T. (2014, December 16). New report on emotional presence in online education [Web log post]. Retrieved from http://terrya.edublogs.org/2014/12/16/new-report-on-emotional-presence-in-online-education/

Leave a Reply

