Collaborating to Learn

I’ve been reflecting on the 3 student-led seminars this morning and by the nature of the topic of each seminar, at least, they have all been very different.  In today’s blog (and mostly to keep it shorter!) I’m reflecting simply on the outcome of my seminar leading experience

I really enjoyed this collaborative experience. It felt like a true mix of all the learning collaboration that I have come to understand as a result of my PGBOE:

    • In reference to the CoI model (Garrioson & Anderson 2003) I felt really connected to my co-leaders and seminar participants.   
    • In particular from the indicators, I fully experienced ‘puzzlement, information exchange, connecting and applying new ideas, risk-free expression, encouraging collaboration, setting methods and focusing discussion’ (p.30) which meant this collaboration was hard work but a joy 🙂
    • In Bonk’s ‘The World is Open’ (2009) I took cognisance of his opener #7 ‘Collaborate or Die’ (2009) to reflect a little more on what went to well with this experience for me and conclude that it expanded my ‘digital citizenship’ (p.267) and allowed me to ‘participate in a more open classroom’ (p.268).
    • It’s difficult to pin-point exactly what made this collaboration as successful but it had a great deal to do with open and active participation with everyone in the group, who made themselves available for discussion and did what they said they’d do, when they said they’d do it – i.e. taking responsibility for their own actions to the benefit of the group and our seminar participants.
    • Finally, the participation of the rest of the cohort in our seminar was encouraging too and I believe there was only 1 who didn’t and they had a very valid reason. This was very encouraging and felt like it was building the learning community across the whole cohort.

I’ll provide a further two parts to this reflection of the student-led seminars – maybe in one blog post, maybe in two.  Let’s see another day, shall we?

Bonk.C. (2009) ‘The World is Open’. Jossey-Bass; San Francisco (p.267 & p.268)

Garrison.D.R. & Anderson.T. (2003) ‘E-Learning in the 21st Century’. RouteledgeFalmer; Oxon (p.30)

Leave a Reply

