Supported and Supporting through SBOE

SBOE Learning – translated into action…

As well as collaborating online with fellow SBOE students, I’ve also attracted learning support from family and friends who I’ve been shared my PG experiences with. Unprompted by me, they’ve occasionally sourced relevant articles and journal entries they thought would be useful to aid my thinking and learning – don’t worry I’m not going to share them all, just this one.

A work colleague sent me a link to an interesting site www.growthengineering.co.uk where I found some new insights into ‘Bringing the Classroom to Life with Blended Education’. Searching around this site to see what also caught my attention, I spotted a link to ‘5 TEDtalks to make you think’ and I selected one to watch that grabbed my attention: Terry Moore’s 2005 talk ‘How to tie your shoelaces’

What I believe Moore demonstrates simply and concisely (as well as providing a good example of Teaching Presence’s direct instruction) is an example of encouraging people to think differently, by demonstrated a new way of doing something and, more importantly, offering an explanation of why you’d want to think differently about it. It also shows Moore using humour to support learning in a short, well designed facilitative session which works just as well face to face as it does when translated into a short online learning experience – which is of course the amazing truth behind most TEDTalks.

Moore ends his short session by stating “sometimes a small advantage some-place in life, can yield tremendous results some-place else” and I believe there have been real advantages of my learning on SBOE which have, perhaps not in terms of earth-shattering result, but yielded results none the less that have improved my  teaching practice and increased my support of colleagues.

Let me explain using just a few examples (some already referred to in previous blogs):

  1. The recent Video Shorts I designed and developed, although not widely watched by students prior to attended my Creating Convincing Proposals workshop this week, were in fact used successful to facilitate succinct explanations allowing me to move quickly to active student application. Also, a colleagues has incorporated these shorts into her design for an up and coming workshop for a different cohort. She identified they could help keep her explanation short and simple, encourage learner attention and engagement to motivate curiosity, and keep her on-schedule with the learning plan.
  2. The 2 videos I designed and developed to explain the theory behind the DiSC model, the basis for our Knowing Yourself & Others workshop (Marston 1928) have been utilised successfully in two learning interventions:
    • Online pre-work for a joint Careers & Confident Futures employability workshop – to provide more time actively exploring and improving C.V. and job applications
    • Online pre-work for another joint initiative ‘Get That Job’ to entirely replace the Confident Futures workshop by asking the students to work at their own online pace prior to the Careers face to face session.
    • These online introductions were based on previous ‘Get That Job’ feedback of ‘what the students wanted more of’.
  3. My Personal Development Tutor on the SBOE recommended I get involved in the university’s project ‘Students as Colleagues’ and I decided to grasp this opportunity to support the project, students and of course my own professional practice.  As well as providing some real insights into how I can improve my practice, my confident 1st year student is just about to share her findings and recommendations with the rest of my team next week.
  4. I now find myself actively promoting the benefits of online education to other colleagues within Student and Academic Services e.g. the Student Mobility team who are finding it difficult to engage students who’ve elected to study abroad to come onto campus for support workshops. I’ve now offered to help a colleague from this team explore and start experimenting with design on Moodle-train over the summer.

These examples provide evidence of how I’m sharing good practice, supporting online and blended practice of colleagues and also taking opportunities to disseminate my improved technical and online knowledge & practice in a very practical way within my HE role. As a direct result of Unit 3 student-led seminar I can now also describe the impact of these examples in terms of Cognitive Learning: where learning is described as a behavioural change based on the acquisition of information about the environment – in this case the online environment.

www.growthengineering.co.uk (last accessed 25/4/15)

http://www.ted.com/talks/terry_moore_how_to_tie_your_shoes (last accessed 25/4/15)

Leave a Reply

